top of page
NIKLASS_LUKASSEN-20.JPG

Aufgewachsen ist Niklas Lukassen in einem unscheinbaren Schwarzwalddorf, jedoch hat er sich früh auf besonderem musikalischen Wege in ein Leben voller stimulierender Orte und Möglichkeiten begeben. Nachdem er seine Leidenschaft für das Bassspiel und besonders die Improvisation entdeckte, zog er mit 16 nach Berlin, um am Jazz Institut zu studieren und in die Szene der Hauptstadt einzutauchen.

 

Ein elementarer Bestandteil Lukassen's musikalischer Entwicklung liegt in New York. Dort schloss er sein Masterstudium mit vollem Stipendium an der Manhattan School of Music unter seinem Mentor Ron Carter ab. Aktuell erforscht er in London als Doktorand an der Royal Academy of Music in London moderne Bassspielkonzepte. Herausstellungsmerkmale seines facettenreichen Spiels sind z.B. Plektrumeinlagen auf dem Kontrabass, seine Affinität zum Fretlessbass mit Darmsaiten, sowie sein innovatives Spiel auf dem Basscello. 

 

Mit natürlicher spielerischer Autorität und emphatischer Experimentierfreude beheimatet sich Niklas Lukassen in mehreren musikalischen Welten. So hatte er die Ehre als Sideman Auftritte mit u.a. Mike Stern, Jorge Rossy, Oz Noy, Sean Wayland, Valerie Simpson, Kurt Rosenwinkel und Gwilym Simcock zu begleiten. Darüber hinaus war er Sänger des Bundesjazzorchesters.

 

Auf seinem bald erscheinenden Leader Debut Album Still Waters Run Deep kombiniert Niklas Lukassen seine Talente als Komponist, Bassist und Sänger und ergründet gemeinsam mit Ben Van Gelder, Kit Downes, Francesco Ciniglio und Gästen wie Kurt Rosenwinkel, Celine Rudolph und Wanja Slavin in vermeintlich stillen musikalischen Gewässern ungeahnte Tiefen. 

 

Seine musikalischen Begegnungen führten ihn bislang auf Tourneen durch die USA, die UK, China, Malaysia, Ägypten, Saudi Arabien und weite Teile Europas. Dazu gehören ikonische Auftrittsorte wie das Lincoln Center, das Beacon Theatre, das John F. Kennedy Center und die Berliner Philharmonie

Mit Leidenschaft engagiert sich Niklas Lukassen in der Musikpädagogik. Er lehrt an den Musikhochschulen Carl Maria von Weber Dresden und BIMM Music Institute Berlin.

Niklas Lukassen verblüfft mit malerischem Sinn für instrumentale Lyrik gleichermaßen auf dem Kontrabass und auf der Bassgitarre.  Nach seiner Rückkehr aus New York lebt er heute zwischen London und Berlin. Dabei etabliert er sich mit zunehmend polarisierender Präsenz in der jungen Europäischen Jazz Szene. Mit seinem individuellen Klang versprüht er zudem ein enormes Bandleader Potential.

bottom of page

top of page
NIKLASS_LUKASSEN-20.JPG

Niklas Lukassen is an award winning bassist and composer, who ventured from an inconspicuous village somewhere in the Southern German Black Forest out into a life of ample opportunity through his personal musical journey. Soon after discovering his love for the bass and particularly improvisation, he moved to Berlin, aged 16, to study at the Jazz Institute and to cut his teeth in the capital's music scene. 

A formative part of his career lies in New York where he lived for three years and obtained a Masters’s Degree from Manhattan School of Music on a full scholarship under the mentorship of  Ron Carter.

Today he pursues his doctoral degree as a practice performance researcher at the Royal Academy of Music in London, exploring innovative bass playing concepts. Unorthodox features of his personal playing style are e.g. the further artistic development of the bass cello, pick playing on the upright bass and use of gut strings on the bass guitar.

Immersed in different musical worlds, he has had the privilege of accompanying performances with luminaries such as Mike SternJorge Rossy, Oz Noy, Sean Wayland, Valerie Simpson and most recently Kurt Rosenwinkel and Gwilym Simcock. Furthermore, Lukassen expands beyond his position as a bass playing sideman through composition/arranging work and his singing voice. As a vocalist he was a member of the German National Jazz Orchestra (BuJazzO).

On his band leader debut album Still Waters Run Deep (soon to be released), Niklas Lukassen merges his talents as a composer, bassist and vocalist. Alongside his band with Ben van Gelder, Kit Downes, Francesco Ciniglio and guests Kurt Rosenwinkel, Céline Rudolph, Wanja Slavin & Geoffroy De Masure, he reveals striking musical depths.

Through his musical collaborations he has been fortunate to tour extensively throughout Europe, the UK, North America, Asia and North Africa. Notable stages he performed on include the Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, the John F. Kennedy Center and the Berlin Philharmonie.

 

A passionate educator, Niklas Lukassen holds teaching positions at the Carl Maria von Weber College of Music in Dresden and at the BIMM Music Institute in Berlin. 

Niklas Lukassen showcases an equally lyrical sensibility and skillful command on both the upright bass and the bass guitar. After his return from New York , he is today living between London and Berlin, from where he establishes himself as a resilient presence within the young European jazz scene. He magnetizes as a distinct rising voice that's sought after in manifold musical situations. Moreover, his sound and artistic vision radiate enormous band leader potential.

bottom of page